27
Jul
13

Diva’s Weekly Challenge 128: Two Pencil String

This was fun and a great way to use those patterns that work in long, narrow spaces. I had two mechanical pencils and adjusted the leads so that they would be of similar length. Then I held them together, put them perpendicular to the surface so that both leads touched the paper, and drew! I too had to make minor adjustments, but it was easy to do. I then went to my handy-dandy self-customized pattern guide and searched through my page of border-like patterns. I ended up changing a lot of patterns around, mostly to cover up errors ( :- /  ,  but in the end, I enjoyed the creation, and I am happy with the result!

I have included a couple of Zentangles that I did but never uploaded as my poor kitty Sam died suddenly and unexpectedly, and I was too sad to do much. I think Coaster by Carole Ohl is one of my favorites. Others that I can remember are Facets by Nancy Pinke, and Boomerangs by  Teresa Clerc. Mumsy by Sandy Bartholomew is at the bottom right, Aura-Leah version by Carla du Preez at the top right, Japonica by Sandra Strait, and official Zentangle® patterns, Mooka, Eke,  and Pane.

(clicking on photos will enlarge them.)

003

Here is my Cirquital / Opus. Working on this helped me deal with all the anxiety and worry I was going through at the time.

Cirquital2.laura.sanders.2012

Here is my template Zentangle featuring Footlites by Carole Ohl. I colored it with fine point markers.

Footlights3.laura.sanders.2013

For more information about weekly challenges see IAmtheDivaCZT.Blogspot.com  and for Zentangle® information see my link , Zentangle® News.

4 Responses to “Diva’s Weekly Challenge 128: Two Pencil String”


  1. July 27, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    All three are great, the second one is my favorite.
    Sorry to hear about your cat, it’s sad that we have to say goodbey to pets so soon.

  2. July 28, 2013 at 1:51 pm

    All are lovely! The second is my favorite one. Great variations of Cirquital!

  3. 3 kathronan1
    October 29, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    It’s so nice to see people using the concept to be “unofficial”. I love the texture and use of positive/negative space that this form gives to abstract work. But if it’s supposed to be “Zen” why all the attention to “rules”. If I’m using this form as a meditative format why would I worry about rules? I love to see the patterns others create. But I use them in my own unique ways. I just finished a series of animal that came out great. (or at least I love them as does the family for whom I made them.) I also love the idea that “there ARE no mistakes”. So if it takes me a half dozen circles with my pen to the the shape of an animal’s head how I want to see it, that becomes part of the work. Straight up ink means there’s no going back. Just making it work.

    • October 29, 2014 at 9:25 pm

      Thank you so much for your thoughtful reply! I actually address this “rules”-thing in my new blog, dedicated just to Zentangle, Tanglezine.blogspot.com, post “It’s Not Religion!”

      If you ask Maria & Rick (founders of the Zentangle method), they would tell you there are no “official” tangles. I use that word “official” to distinguish between tangles that come from Rick, Maria & Molly, and tangles that others submit and share. Certain tangles Maria & Rick have asked that CZT’s not upload the step-outs, therefore giving CZT’s something special to share in their classes. In my mind, that request alone makes a difference between their tangles and everyone elses!

      All of the patterns have a basic form, and it’s what each individual does with them that makes everyone’s work unique. I hate rules too! The Zentangle Method IS a particular method designed to bring about a set of expected results, and therefore it must have guidelines. The guidelines are pretty loose! It’s like learning anything; first follow all the steps and guidelines and instruction, and once you have the hang of it, and understand what is happening, then you start to develop your own way of doing things.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 15,233 hits

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Rusted

Art, Textiles, and Design

spaark.wordpress.com/

"to be in a wonderful state of creative chaos due to an overactive imagination that is always questioning...what if"

All Tangled Up

A place to share my Zentangle art and other random ruminations.

Our Process

Comics & Sundry by Aaron Guile

yzartgallery

created March 1, 2012

Brian Gaynor Photography

Capturing Life's Beauty One Photo at a Time

